A warm welcome to our Chevening and Commonwealth scholars!

February 10, 2017

On Wednesday 8th February, Dr Ben Calvert, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Learning, Teaching & Student Experience) met with our Chevening and Commonwealth scholarship scholars.

Since the Chevening programme began in 1983, 29 Chevening scholars from around the world have enrolled at the university. In September 2016 we welcomed a further 8 students from Mongolia, Libya, Kurdistan, Vietnam, Cambodia, Indonesia and Zimbabwe. Chevening scholarships are funded by the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and the programme has developed into a prestigious international scheme which each year provides awards to over 1500 outstanding scholars with leadership potential from more than 150 countries. The university is proud to be a Chevening Partner and jointly funds a number of Chevening scholarships each year.

We are also pleased to welcome Tawsif Hossain Chowdhury, a Commonwealth scholar from Bangladesh. Commonwealth Scholarships are coordinated by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (CSC) in the UK. The CSC awards over 900 scholarships each year to students from Commonwealth countries.
There are over 90,000 Chevening and Commonwealth alumni around the world who together comprise an influential and highly regarded global network. The university is delighted to be a part of such prestigious scholarship programmes and are looking forward to welcoming further scholars in future.
We wish all our current Chevening and Commonwealth scholars the very best for their year at the university!

If you would like to find out about other scholarship opportunities, please visit our “International Scholarships webpage”:http://international.southwales.ac.uk/fees-and-scholarships/international-scholarships/ or contact “Jo Scaplehorn, International Officer.”:mailto:j.scaplehorn@southwales.ac.uk

Back Row: Dr Ben Calvert (Pro Vice-Chancellor, Learning, Teaching & Student Experience) with our colleagues from the International Office
Front Row: Chevening and Commonwealth scholars (from left to right) – Koemhong Sol (Cambodia), Otgontsetseg Bishkhorloo (Mongolia), Huong Nguyen-Mai (Vietnam), Nuke Febriana Hatta (Indonesia), Kudakwashe Magura (Zimbabwe), Sharif Khoshnaw (Kurdistan), Tawsif Hossain Chowdhury (Bangladesh), Ruvarshe Nyaruwata (Zimbabwe). Another scholar Muhanned Kalashash (Libya) was unable to make the meeting on the day.